The Oaklawn Center on Aging Nurse Aide Training Program provides education for individuals seeking a career in caregiving and training for family members and/or signiﬁcant others caring for an older adult in a variety of settings.
Upon graduation from the OCOA Nurse Aide Training Program participants will be able to:
• Perform caregiving skills for clients with varying levels of assistance needed
• Demonstrate physical and behavioral skills to aid in caring for an older adult
• Pass the state CNA examination
The OCOA Nurse Aide Training Program is approved by the Arkansas Ofﬁce of Long Term Care. The training program also meets or exceeds the requirements of the following regulations:
• Federal Register: Rules and Regulations, the Conditions of Participation for Home Health Agencies
• Arkansas Medicaid Manual: Personal Care Participation Requirements and Rules and Regulations for Home Health Agencies in Arkansas
• Arkansas Act 1410 which regulates training for PAID in-home caregivers
• Arkansas Division of Higher Education
The classroom training portion of the course consists of 75 hours. In addition, 16 hours are required in clinical training, for a total of 91 clock hours. Each course is 15 days in length.
This course provides information and skills training necessary for the providing hands-on personal care for individuals who need moderate to maximum assistance. Graduates can perform services in private homes, for home health agencies, in other settings under the supervision of a licensed nurse and in nursing homes and qualify to take the state CNA exam.
Any person who can read, write and speak English may apply for enrollment into the program. No previous caregiver education or experience is required for enrollment.
The training center prohibits discrimination of educational opportunity on the basis of disability, gender, race, creed, national origin, color, religion, age or marital status. However, class size is limited and all applicants may not be accepted.
• Make an appointment by phone or email to set up a time to receive information about and orientation to the program.
• Submit a completed application along with a $75 non- refundable deposit. *Payments accepted are money order, cashier’s check, or exact cash.
• Sponsorships or scholarships may be available to students who are unable to pay the $480 tuition fee.